Training

The Courses

There are three courses that a reservist must complete before being considered a trained soldier. The first two (BMQ and SQ) can be taken part time on weekends during the school year or full time in the summer. They are both around 13 weekends long if taken part time and 4 weeks long if take full time. The third course is your trade course and is only offered full time in the summer. The combat engineer course is 6 weeks long and given only in Gagetown, New Brunswick.

BMQ

The Basic Military Qualification course focuses on teaching you the necessary skills to succeed in a military environment. In addition to the fitness training, basic training for non-commissioned members ensures that each recruit has the potential, motivation and ability to work as an effective team member. To ensure that you have the general skills necessary to work in small teams during simple operations, there will also be opportunities to apply your military skills in training exercises involving force protection, field training, and navigation. Topics include:

Policies and regulations of the Canadian Forces;
CF drill, dress and deportment (the “three Ds”);
Basic safety;
First aid;
Personal survival in nuclear, biological and chemical conditions;
Handling and firing personal weapons;
Cross-country navigation; and
Personal survival in field conditions.

SQ

This course completes the basic military training, including basic familiarity with the other weapons in an infantry platoon such as the C6 and C9 machine guns, the M72 rocket launcher, the fragmentation hand grenade, as well as advanced field training, military law and general military knowledge. Topics:

Army physical fitness;
Dismounted offensive and defensive operations;
Reconnaissance patrolling;
Advanced weapons-handling (working with grenades, machine-guns and anti-tank weapons);
Individual field-craft.

Trade Course

The combat engineer course covers the following material:

Construction of field defences and obstacles;
Construction of roads, airfields and helicopter landing sites;
Construction of rafts and bridges
Operation and maintenance of water points;
Radio communications for combat arms operations;
Mathematics, military writing, basic military organization, and military history;
Personal camouflage and camouflage of section positions;
Operation of troop weapons and section defensive tasks and procedures;
Basic procedures of rigging and firing of explosive charges, minelaying and booby-trapping; and
Use and care of section tools and safety equipment.

Comments are closed.

Formation

Les Cours

Il y a trois cours qu’un réserviste doit completer avant d’être considéré comme un soldat qualifé. Les deux premiers (QMB et QS) peuvent être prises à temps partiel les week-ends durant l’année scolaire ou à temps plein durant l’été. Ils durent 13 week-ends si elles sont prises à temps partiel et 4 semaines à temps plein. Le troisième cours est le cours du génie et est offert uniquement à temps plein durant l’été. Le cours de génie de combat dure 6 semaines et il est offert seulement à Gagetown, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

QMB

Le cours de qualification militaire de base porte sur les compétences essentielles pour réussir dans les Forces. En plus de l’entraînement physique, l’instruction de base des militaires du rang permet de s’assurer que chaque recrue possède le potentiel, la motivation et la capacité nécessaires pour être un membre d’équipe efficace. Afin de vérifier que vous possédez les aptitudes générales nécessaires pour fonctionner au sein de petites équipes au cours d’opérations simples, vous aurez également l’occasion d’appliquer vos compétences militaires au cours d’exercices de protection de forces, d’entraînement tactique et d ’orientation. Sujets:

Politiques et règlements des Forces canadiennes;
Exercices militaires, tenue et conduite;
Sécurité de base;
Premiers soins;
Survie dans des conditions d’attaque nucléaire, biologique ou chimique;
Maniement et utilisation d’armes individuelles;
Déplacement en terrain varié;
Survie dans des conditions opérationnelles.

QS / SQ

Ce cours complète la formation militaire de base, y compris la familiarité avec les autres armes dans un peloton d’infanterie comme les mitrailleuses C6 et C9, le lanceur de roquettes M72, la grenade, ainsi que la formation sur le droit militaire et la connaissances militaire générale. Sujets:

Conditionnement physique;
Opérations offensives et défensives à pied;
Patrouille de reconnaissance;
Maniement d’armes – niveau avancé (grenades, mitrailleuses et armes antichar);
Techniques individuelles de campagne.

Cours de Métier

Ce cours aborde les points suivants :

construction de fortifications de campagne et d’obstacles;
construction de routes, de terrains d’aviation et de sites d’atterrissage pour hélicoptères;
construction de radeaux et de ponts;
exploitation et entretien de points d’eau;
communications radio pour les opérations des armes de combat;
mathématiques, rédaction militaire, organisation militaire de base et histoire militaire;
camouflage personnel et camouflage des positions de la section;
maniement des armes de troupe et tâches et procédures défensives de la section;
procédures de base pour l’installation et la mise à feu de charges explosives ainsi que la pose de mines et de pièges
utilisation et entretien des outils de la section et de l’équipement de sécurité.

Comments are closed.